OffThePost.org

(Generation III)
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:28 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2010 12:11 am 
Finally figured out how to change this!

I grew up skateboarding. Dudes who showed up on Rollerblades were coined "Fruit booters" and subsequently heckled until they left. When I started playing hockey and saw roller hockey, I was inclined to scoff at it, as a similar bastardization/pansification of our beloved ice hockey.

My daughter wants to play inline. The rink is super close, the cost is far less than summer ice hockey, the times are convenient...

PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2010 12:22 am 
Promoted from Lt. Chaos

I say go for it. Nobody up here looks down on it. It's just another way to enjoy the game when ice isn't handy.

"Fruit Booter," that's hilarious. :lol:

PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2010 3:11 am 
Un-Tenured Professor of Hockey

It depends. I love playing on an outdoor concrete surface. Obviously stopping isn't quite as easy, but since that and maneuvering overall is a little more difficult but puckhandling's about the same, offense and scoring come a lot easier. I played outdoor inline for close to five years and loved every minute of it.

However, I've also played indoor on that crappy plastic laminate surface or whatever it is and hated it. I know you need a different type of wheel, but it simply didn't feel like hockey. The minute some guy told me I shouldn't try and skate backwards to play defense, I knew it wasn't for me. Obviously your kid's just starting out so it might not be a problem.

I'll be sure to never wear my "fruit booters" at the skate park. :lol:

PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2010 10:17 am 
OTP Historian

Played plenty of street hockey in roller blades with my brothers growing up. Still have a pair of CCM Tacks but I haven't worn them in years. I wanted to join a roller league in Burlington but never got around to it.

PostPosted: Mon May 03, 2010 11:50 am 
2 Legit 2 Quit